jump to navigation

Some Random, Bookish Post July 13, 2009

Posted by bookbutterfly in books, school and other academic stuff.
trackback

Thanks so much for the awesome links and jokes, Spider and Priya! You guys rock. Those did cheer me up. 🙂

Anyhoo, this is, basically, a random, literary post that doesn’t really even deserve a title. It’s more like a “so what do you think I should do?” type of post. Lame, I know, but I really, really want everyone’s opinion!

As you all know (and should know if you don’t!), I have a mad penchant for fantasy (*coughfairytaleretellingscough*) and historical fiction. And I love it even more when those two genres are fused together into period fantasy. (♥!) So, bearing this in mind, I am going to splurge a little (I hope, at least) on Borders.com and buy some fantasy, historical fiction, and period fantasy novels, especially since most of my children’s books have now been carted off into the garage and now the few YA books I actually own make me look as if I, erm, don’t read a lot. And you all know what a lie that is.

What I need to know from YOU guys is whether the following titles are one, first and foremost, CLEAN and APPROPRIATE (nothing graphic, please), and two, interesting. And paperback, just because they’re cheaper. But the ones I’m listing are already in paperback, so I’ve already covered that for you. 🙂

I’ve pretty much vowed to myself since the fall that the next first book I would buy after this whole book ordeal I had would be Sorcery and Cecilia by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer and I may buy the rest of the sequels from online in the same purchase. I’ve heard it’s mostly pretty clean…ye or nay? I would think ye, but it doesn’t hurt to double-check.

I’m also dying to have these titles:

  • The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope
  • Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard
  • How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier
  • A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
  • East by Edith Pattou
  • Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George
  • Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George
  • Into the Wild by Sarah Beth Durst
  • The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner
  • The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson
  • The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison
  • Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Princess Ben by Catherine Murdock
  • The Swan Maiden by Heather Tomlinson
  • Once Upon a Marigold by Jean Ferris
  • Remembrance by Theresa Breslin

Oh NO. I promise, I was NOT originally going to spit out so many titles. There WERE going to be only like…five. Including Sorcery and Cecilia. But alas. There you have it. So please tell. Tell the truth. Especially whether they’re clean or not.

And now I’m going off to quickly check some HBP updates on the Leaky Cauldron (*squee!*), do some extra practice for tomorrow’s test, and read some, all in order to prevent myself from freaking out from tomorrow freaky test. Ugh. Lack of eloquence right there. Wish me luck. Hasta luego.

♥BB

P.S. Reviewer X is holding a giveaway of that novel everyone is squeeing about and murdering themselves and others for–Catching Fire!! Yup, just click here, link, leave a comment, and you’re entered. 😀

Comments»

1. Madison - July 13, 2009

My brief opinions on the books you listed that I have read:

Sorcery and Cecelia doesn’t have anything objectionable; The Grand Tour doesn’t, either, and I think The Mislaid Magician would be fine.

The Perilous Gard is wonderful.

Prada and Prejudice was disappointing, imho; it could have been so much better.

How to Ditch Your Fairy…I love Justine Larbalestier’s writing, but her novel executions always are iffy. I don’t think there was a lot of mature content in this, but I can’t remember.

A Northern Light…lovely lovely book, but it’s definitely PG-13. I don’t think it’s an objectionable PG-13, but I’ve seen complaints over content.

East…lots of people love it. I don’t. No mature content, though, from what I can remember.

Dragon Slippers. YES! (And I’d say that Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow is safe, too, because it’s by Jessica Day George.)

Into the Wild. Definitely read this, too.

Princess Ben was a stupid book.

The Swan Maiden…I didn’t like it. It was like something Shannon would write, but Shannon would write it better.

I think Remembrance is out of print, so I’m not sure that you’ll find it. (I couldn’t find it on Borders.com.)

2. animeactress - July 13, 2009

the only one ive even heard of let alone read is princess ben. i liked it. and its pretty clean. except maybe for one part where men are being complete idiots but since when is that avoidable. dont worry its good.

3. Priya - July 13, 2009

Ummm….I basically agree with everything Anilee said. And How to Ditch Your Fairy was kind of silly and stupid imho, but it’s totally clean.

4. Jess - July 13, 2009

I read The Princess and the Hound a while ago. I don’t remember it well. But, if memory serves, there’s just some cursing. Otherwise it’s clean.

And… Lament. I wouldn’t call it the cleanest read around. There is language (F words included) and sexual content.

Once Upon a Marigold is perfectly clean.

5. bookbutterfly - July 15, 2009

Wow, thanks so much, you guys! You are all the epitome of awesomeness–you’re so helpful! I think for now I’m going to try to get THE PERILOUS GARD; EAST; SORCERY AND CECILIA; and SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW. I really, really want PRADA AND PREJUDICE (it would definitely be classified as what I call “literary candy”, but nonetheless, I still want to read it), and it seems pretty clean but…is it? 😛


Leave a Reply

