jump to navigation

I am, officially, a geek. January 26, 2009

Posted by bookbutterfly in authors, books, friends, school and other academic stuff, yearbook.
Tags: ,
trackback

Every day at school when the lunch bell rings, I go to the yearbook room to eat lunch with my friend, Chloe. In the yearbook room (this whole post is going to sound choppy), there are computers. Not like the best ones ever, but still, computers are better than no computers. And the first thing I did? No, I didn’t open up my lunch sack. No, I didn’t run to LRRH. No, I didn’t go to Goodreads. I went to Google. Why?

As I told Chloe later, “I am such a geek.”

“Why?”

“Because…at 8:30 am PST, 7:30 am MST in Denver, Colorado, the Newberys were released.”

Oh my goodness. I’m such a geek. I know I’ve said that three times already, but it’s true. And I am SO proud of my obsession with the Newberys.

So here y’all have it:

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (Medal)

The Underneath by Kathi Appelt (Honor)
The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle (Honor)
Savvy by Ingrid Law (Honor)
After Tupac & D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson (Honor)

Even though I’ve never read it, I could have bet my bottom dollar Laurie Halse Anderson’s Chains would at least won an Honor. Ah well.

Moral: BB is a Newbery geek. The end.

Comments»

1. geekspawngirl - January 27, 2009

That’s so funny!
I haven’t read any of those.


Leave a Reply

