jump to navigation

Celebration of Blogs UPDATES!!! January 2, 2009

Posted by bookbutterfly in blogs and blogging, contests.
Tags:
trackback

First off, happy New Year to everyone! Gosh, I still can’t believe it’s 2009!!! Crazy!!

Ok, well, since it is now 2009, I really want to get the Celebration of Blogs stuff going. Like, NOW. And I’m not getting very many responses at all from you guys. So while I was away doing APUSH, I fixed up all the rules.

This is NOT going to be like a contest, but more like high school superlatives. I hope you all know how that works out, but if you don’t, basically, you vote for whichever blog  for different events (I prefer saying “events” over “awards”, since the latter sounds a little bit like those blue ribbons you get in kindergarten while the former sounds more for contemporary, sharp people winning prizes at state science fairs or something, you know, people like y’all). Think of it like the Academy Awards…and don’t let me get into the specifics for those of you who don’t know how that works. 😛

Now, perhaps I better get a few things straight, so that no one puts on a pouty face or something, haha. 😦 😉

  1. I will NOT be voting for myself, but if you want to vote for me, thank you very much for the sweet compliment! 😀 I will NOT be voting in the main divisions (Blog of the Year, Blogger of the Year, Rookie Blog of the Year, and Review Blog of the Year) just because I have so many blogging buddies that it’d be really unfair and too tough for me to choose. However, I will be voting for the smaller awards–the events, as I call them.
  2. You can vote for yourself or someone else’s blog that is not their main blog.
  3. You also can vote for the same blog or blogger more than once, but just try to spread your votes out evenly so that everyone gets a chance.
  4. It is OK to let people know that you’re voting for them, but I don’t really recommend going on LRRH and putting in your siggie, “HEY, NOTE TO [USERNAME], I VOTED FOR YA!!!” It just seems to start to get a little cliquey-ish, and if anything’s going to do with me, it most definitely is not going to be cliquey. If I were you, I wouldn’t go there at all. But after the submission date, go ahead and freely tell who you voted for; put it in your siggie if you wish. 😉
  5. Votes can be sent to me by email: bookbutterflyangel [at] yahoo [dot] com OR lady [dot] dashti [at] gmail [dot] com. If I happen to be on gmail chat while you’re on, you can send me your submissions via chat, too. 😀
  6. Up to three submissions are allowed per event/division. You do not have to vote for each and every event and division, but if you have the time, please do as many as you can. Changing votes is also allowed up until the submission date.
  7. “Blogs” such as Twitter, Word Count Journal, Facebook, MySpace, and the like are NOT allowed to be submitted. Sorry, that’s the way it rolls. I just don’t really consider them as “blogs”. Blogger/Blogspot, WordPress, LiveJournal, Xanga, Weebly, etc are allowed.

Now, for the most fun part of them all!  What are the events I added? I had so much fun making these up, and thanks so much to Fee for the idea! 😀

  • Best book blog (not necessarily a review blog, just one that focuses a lot on books)
  • Blog with the best music (music can be provided by Project Playlist, Jango, etc. YES, WordPress users, you can use Jango on your blog and it is not too late to do so while CoB is up and rolling.
  • Blog with the best layout
  • Funniest blog
  • Best blog about life (“life” meaning everyday stuff that goes on in the blogger’s life: school, religion, beliefs, etc)
  • Most random blog (I know what you’re thinking–“But everyone’s is!”–and I agree, but I just had to add this one in for fun. Only for this event is the submission of “everyone” allowed. 😀 )
  • Most thought-provoking blog (a blog that has posts that really make you think, or is very poignant)
  • Best photo blog (there’s gotta be a few of these out there!)
  • Blog with the best header picture
  • Blog with the coolest widgets
  • Blog featuring the awesomest videos
  • Blog with the neatest links
  • Best blog URL (without all the “.blogspot”, “.wordpress”, “.livejournal”, etc, of course)
  • Coolest blog username
  • Best blog title
  • Best blog tagline
  • Best group blog (group being defined as run by 2 or more bloggers)
  • Best writing (on a) blog (not necessarily for writing blogs, though these can be voted for. This can also be for blogs that feature ORIGINAL writing from the blogger. If possible, you can add in the title of the work and, if it is a novel, what part you liked about it best.)
  • Most well-written blog (very different from the above, this judges the style of writing of the POSTS)
  • Most in-tune blog with the world (what blog keeps up-to-date with current events)

If you guys have more suggestions, submissions, feedback, questions, or comments, send me email! I love email! It is on point #5 above. 😀 Also, it’d be UBER awesome if you can please write a post advertising this blog for me to spread the word about it! Remember, if this contest idea doesn’t get at least 15 submissions by the submission date (which I think will be Sunday, January 11, 2009, but I can’t be sure just yet), I will have to close it. So blog about it if you like it and want to keep it alive! [EDIT: I will change the submission date to the end of this month, Saturday, January, 31, 2009. SEND IN THOSE SUBMISSIONS! BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE!!!!]

Good luck to everyone! I hope everyone wins something, which I’m sure y’all will!

Lots of Love and MOLD,

♥BB

Comments»

1. Merissa - January 2, 2009

Those are a lot of great categories! Good luck!

2. Leanna - January 2, 2009

Wow, this sounds really cool! Ditto Merissa, they’re great categories. 🙂

3. bookbutterfly - January 2, 2009

Thanks so much you two! I’ve only gotten three good responses (these ones here, and one through chat, not counting the ones on my previous post), but I’m hoping to get more. Good luck to you both! 😀


Leave a Reply

