jump to navigation

Something I Noticed… May 18, 2008

Posted by bookbutterfly in books, miscellaneous, music.
Tags: ,
trackback

Song in My Head: “Lookin’ for a Good Time” by Lady Antebellum (w00t!! They’re awesome!)

Something I’ve noticed lately is that….most things (mind that I wrote the word “MOST”) that I first think that I’m going to totally HATE I end up getting OBSESSED with. Weird, huh? So I decided to make a little list of those things. I put them in chronological order that I got obsessed with them. πŸ˜‰

1. Harry Potter: OK…so, I really did not like it at all. Honestly, the books came out when I was 4, and I started reading chapter books a couple years later, but…I think if my mom hadn’t bought the books just because, I don’t think I’d ever pick them up even when I was able to read them. (sorry if that didn’t make any sense) Look at me now: I’m freakishly obsessed with HP; I’ve memorized the HP trio’s full names (including middle name), as well as their b-days. *roll*

2. Country music: Yep, this is on the list, too. Well, when I was little, my mom would say how much she didn’t like country, so I just agreed with her just because she was my mom. What I didn’t know was that LeAnn Rimes’ “How Do I Live” and Faith Hill’s “Breathe” and “This Kiss” were country (and I loved those songs when I was little!). So…now, as you probably know, I love, love, love, love country music like crazy.

3. iPods and iTunes: Even in 6th and 7th grade, I had a little grudge against peoples with iPods. Until I got my first two years ago. And then…the rest is history! πŸ™‚

4. Shannon Hale (more specifically, PA): Well, I think it’s just easier if you read this explanation (read Ch. 3) then me to retell the whole story. πŸ˜•

5. LRRH: Seriously, guys, I have a confession to make: I did not like LRRH at all when I first went on. Honest to goodness. I dunno why, I guess when I clicked the PA subforum, the whole thing seemed too whacked out to me (I know what y’all are gonna say: “speak for yourself!”), and all the siggie pics were all new to me. That was in Nov 2007. A few weeks later, I went on again, and I liked it better and better each time I went on (OK, well the Great Crash of 2008 prevented me from going on for a week or so) until I finally decided to join. Maybe I’m just a little obsessed with it…. πŸ˜‰ Well, I’ve made terrific friends on the forum, and I feel so totally lucky to be an LRRHer, where geeks rule the world! muahahahahahah πŸ˜€

Comments»

1. hwalk - May 19, 2008

It’s funny how so many things are like that. It goes to show that likes and dislikes are more developed tastes, and you can realy learn to like a lot of things.

2. bookbutterfly - May 19, 2008

Yeah; when I told my mom about that, she said, “That’s b/c you need to try more things!” Of course, not w/ food…I’m really picky. ;)I’m glad I’m not the only one who is like that, though. πŸ™‚

3. Madison - May 19, 2008

*raises hand* I’m like that too.I thought I’d hate:Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl. It’s my favorite movie.The Lord of the Rings. It’s like amazingly awesome.The Goose Girl. All right. So I thought it looked okay when I borrowed it from the library. I wasn’t expecting it would be so amazing.Josh Groban. *rolls eyes* Silly me. ;)And gah! You didn’t like LRRH at first?! BB! Blasphemy! jk; we are a little frightening, aren’t we? We’re only getting worse, I think. πŸ˜‰

4. bookbutterfly - May 19, 2008

LRRH…yeah, I didn’t like it at first. It scared me. Everyone had siggie pics that were kinda new to me, and it was just overall…strange. Yup, we are getting worse. (note that I said WE: including me) πŸ˜‰

5. spider - May 19, 2008

I didn’t think I’d like Harry Potter or Shannon Hale either. And then I actually read the books. *boom* ‘Twas love at third sight.


Leave a Reply

